Warning: array_intersect(): Expected parameter 2 to be an array, null given in /home/customer/www/newnativetheatre.org/public_html/wp-content/plugins/page-or-post-clone/page-or-post-clone.php on line 123
Good Medicine Festival | New Native Theatre

4th Annual New Native Theatre Festival: GOOD MEDICINE

This event has passed. Stay tuned for future shows and festivals.

SCHEDULE:

Thurs., Dec 3rd – 7:00 p.m. CST

POETRY NIGHT – Livestream of Miriam Mosqueda (Chichimeca Guamare), Carey J. Flack (Black/Mvskoke Creek/Cherokee Freedmen/Choctaw Freedmen kinship ties), Robyn Katona (Cree) and Cyndi Bergloff (Grand Traverse band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians, Thunderbird clan).

Followed by:

CONVERSATION about Good Medicine with First Nations playwright, director, and scholar, Yvette Nolan (Algonquin) and NNT Artistic Director, Rhiana Yazzie (Diné)

Fri., Dec 4th – 7:00 p.m. CST/12:00 p.m. AEDT (Dec 5th) in Australia

ILBIJERRI THEATRE COMPANY – YOUTH ENSEMBLE

Ilbijerri is the longest established First Nations theatre company in Australia presenting powerful and engaging theatre based in Melbourne.

Followed by:

DON’T PUT YOUR MOCCASINS UNDER YOUR PILLOW by Lini Wilkins (Diné) produced by New Native Theatre.

And:

CONVERSATION with the cast led by NNT Artistic Associate, Blossom Johnson (Diné).

Sat,. Dec 5th – 3:00 p.m. & 7:00 p.m. CST

WHERE DID ALL THE COLORFUL FEATHERS GO? by Rebekah Crisanta de Ybarra (Maya Lenka). Ancient Futures. Lenca in America. In collaboration with Xilam Balam Ybarra, Xochitl Ybarra and Imix Ybarra.

Sun., Dec 6th – 3:00 p.m. CST

STORYTELLING SUNDAY with Fern Renville (Sisseton Wahpeton Dakota) & Roger Fernandes (Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe).

Mon., Dec 7th – 7:00 p.m. CST

MONOLOGUE MONDAY featuring Oogie_Push (Meskwaki), Olivia C. Davies (Anishinaabe), Gary Farmer (Haudenosaunee Confederacy), Chris Hoshnic (Diné) and Noreen Quadir.

Followed by:

CONVERSATION with artists led by NNT Artistic Associate, Oogie_Push (Meskwaki).

Tue., Dec 8th – 7:00 p.m. CST and 8:00 p.m. CST/12:00 p.m. AEDT (Dec 9th) in Australia

GLOBAL INDIGENOUS DANCE featuring Dakota Camacho (Matao/Chamoru) & Suri Bin Saad (Aboriginal Nyikina).

Followed by:

CONVERSATION with the artists led by NNT Artistic Associates, Sara Warzeha (Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate) and Oogie_Push (Meskwaki).

Wed., Dec 9th – 10:00 a.m. CST to 11:00 p.m.

CATCH UP DAY! – Rewatch the first seven days of the festival.

Thurs., Dec 10th – 7:00 p.m. CST/ 2:00 p.m. NZDT (Dec 11th) in Aotearoa (New Zealand)

/ 2:00 a.m. CET (Dec 11th) in Sweden

TūRongo Collective: Indigenous Holistic Health Wellness of Aotearoa (New Zealand). Since 2015, TūRongo Collective has been a holistic indigenous service.

Followed by:

Åsa Simma of Giron Sámi Teáhter of Sweden – STORYTELLING, REFLECTIONS OF PAST AND TODAY

Giron Sámi Teáhter is the Sami people’s theater and represents a matter of importance for the whole of Sweden.

Fri., Dec 11th – 8:00 a.m. CST in the USA / 3:00 p.m CET in Sweden

REPLAY OF Åsa Simma of Giron Sámi Teáhter of Sweden

Giron Sámi Teáhter is the Sami people’s theater and represents a matter of importance for the whole of Sweden.

Followed by:

LIVE CONVERSATION with Åsa Simma of Giron Sámi Teáhter led by Artistic Director, Rhiana Yazzie (Diné).

Fri., Dec 11th – 7:00 p.m. CST

ICEMAN: THE FROZEN PROTECTOR by Zane Smith (Red Lake Ojibwe) produced by New Native Theatre.

Followed by:

CONVERSATION with cast and playwright led by Artistic Director, Rhiana Yazzie (Diné).

Fri., Dec 11th – 11:00 p.m. in the USA / 6:00 p.m. NZDT (Dec 12th) in Aotearoa (New Zealand) / 6:00 a.m. CET (Dec 12th) in Sweden

REPLAY OF TūRongo Collective: Indigenous Holistic Health Wellness of New Zealand. Since 2015, TūRongo Collective has been a holistic indigenous service.

Followed by:

LIVE CONVERSATION with TūRongo Collective led by Artistic Director, Rhiana Yazzie (Diné) and Artistic Associate, Oogie_Push (Meskwaki).

Sat., Dec 12th – 7:00 p.m. CST & 8:00 p.m. CST

THE GREAT RETURN by Lara Gerhardson (White Earth, Red Lake, & Leech Lake tribal descendant) produced by New Native Theatre.

Followed by:

A ROUNDTABLE ABOUT INDIGENOUS FUTURISM with Arigon Starr (Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma), Artistic Director, Rhiana Yazzie (Diné), and NNT Artistic Associates, Blossom Johnson (Diné), Oogie_Push (Meskwaki), Sara Warzeha(Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate).

Followed by:

LIVE MUSIC! – THE PRETENDIANS

A Twin Cities/Minnesota based rock band featuring Thomas Draskovic (Hunkphápa Lakhóta/Wahpé Khuté Dakhóta enrolled Standing
Rock Nation), Al Grande (Enrolled Rosebud Lakhóta Nation), Christine Bartyzal (Enrolled Crow Creek Dakhóta Nation), Randy Vickers.

Sun. Dec 13th 10:00 a.m. CST to 11:00 p.m.

Binge-watch a marathon of the entire festival today!